Published: Tuesday, 24 July 2012

Rsyc Regatta 2012 Highlights 1

The past weekend saw the finish of the 13th annual RSYC (Republic of Singapore Yacht Club) Regatta, held on the 15th, 21st and 22nd of this month in the waters off Singapore’s Southern Islands. 21 yachts with roughly 130 sailors engaged in a fierce competition, with some of last year’s winners such as Windsikher, SMUve and Angel returning to defend their titles.

All four classes – IRC A, IRC B, One design – J24, and PY – witnessed pitched battles between a handful of strong contenders. On the first day of racing, Foxylady VI and Windsikher vied for top position in IRC A, while SMUmad and Shoon Fung Too jostled in IRC B, Angel and Shengli in One Design – J24, and Arbudhen and Todak 2 in PY class.

The second day saw Foxylady VI keeping their lead in IRC A, with Rikki Tikki Tavi overtaking Windsikher to come in at second place. In IRC B class, SMUve moved ahead of Shoon Fung Too, challenging fellow sportsmen on SMUmad. The first two positions remained unchanged in the other categories, with Angel and Arbudhen still coming out on top.

On the 22nd, the final day of racing began with good weather and fair winds. Foxylady VI clinched the title for IRC A with skipper Bill Bremer, while Windsikher reclaimed second spot from Rikki Tikki Tavi. SMUmad, with Christopher Lim at the helm, beat out its counterpart SMUve, winner of last year’s IRC B category. In the One design – J24 class, Angel emerged victorious under the leadership of Borstnar Vladimir, snapping up its third consecutive title since 2010. Arbudhen, led by Michael Teo, took top honours for PY class.

 Rsyc Regatta 2012 Highlights 2

 Rsyc Regatta 2012 Highlights 3

 Rsyc Regatta 2012 Highlights 4

 Rsyc Regatta 2012 Highlights 5