Published: Tuesday, 21 July 2015

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) and Rolex now invite nominations for the 2015 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards.

Isaf And Rolex Invite Sailor Of The Year Nominations

(2014 Winners: Kahena Kunze (BRA), James Spithill (AUS), Martine Grael (BRA)) 

Winners will be announced at the November 10 awards dinner, in Sanya, China, host city for the 2015 ISAF Annual Conference (Nov 7-14).

The Conference held at the Kempinski Hotel in Haitang Bay is a weeklong series of meetings, bringing together decision makers in the sport to debate issues affecting the future of sailing.

First presented in 1994, the nominees have always included the highest achievers from all disciplines of sailing. From record-breaking passages, exceptional performances or a triumph against the odds, the awards celebrate inspiring individuals and outstanding teamwork each year.

Isaf And Rolex Invite Sailor Of The Year Nominations 1

Winners will be presented with the unique marble and silver trophy depicting the globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, together with a Rolex timepiece. Awards are given to both male and female sailors.

Nominations can be made by anyone and the only criterion for sailors is outstanding achievement in the sport of sailing during the qualifying period of September 1 2014 through August 31 2015. Nominations should be sent to ISAF by September 2 2015 using the Official Nomination Form.

A shortlist of nominations will be drawn up by ISAF from all those received by the deadline. Those making the cut will go on to become the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2015 Nominees.

Isaf And Rolex Invite Sailor Of The Year Nominations 2

(Photo: Daniel Forster/Rolex Fastnet Race)

In past years His Majesty King Harald of Norway, His Majesty King Constantine, His Royal Highness Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark and other renowned sailors have presented the award.