Published: Tuesday, 14 July 2015

The Transpac Yacht Race has officially begun. The first of four separate waves embarked today, with the three remaining starts on July 16 and two more on July 18.

Transpac Yacht Race Officially Begins 3

This is the 48th edition of this classic ocean race that stretches 2,225 miles from Los Angeles, California to Honolulu, Hawaii. The Transpacific Yacht Club organises the event biennially.

This year the oldest boat is also the largest. The Division 8 entry Martha is a Crowninshield-designed 84-foot schooner built with wood in 1907 in San Francisco, California. Skippered by Robert d'Arcy, Martha is based in Port Townsend, Washington. She will have a crew of eleven for the Transpac Race.

Transpac Yacht Race Officially Begins 2

(Schooner - Martha)

The smallest entry this year is a sportboat racing in Division 7. The Feet 30 Fortissimo 11 was built in Italy and owned by Yasuto Fuda of Yamaguchi, Japan.

 Fortissimo III is one of three entries from Japan in this race, with the others being Yasuhide Kobayashi's J/120 Julian from Minatoku and Akimitsu Harai's S-40 Crescent III from Yokohama, who is racing in Division 6.

Transpac Yacht Race Officially Begins 5

(Division 8 entry - Westward)

This is one of the world's oldest and longest biennial ocean races, first sailed in 1906 from an idea inspired by Hawaii's King Kalakaua in the late 19th century. The overall winner of the race wins the trophy named for him: the prestigious King Kalakaua Cup.