Published: Monday, 01 February 2016

Slow winds saw the NZ Millennium Cup (Jan 26-29) fleet delayed for over an hour on the last day of racing in the 2016 event, with four of the five entries tied for the top spot in the Millennium Cup division.

Tawera Claims Nz Millennium Cup

(Photo: Tawera / Jeff Brown)

It was newcomers Tawera and Kealoha who were neck and neck coming toward the finish line in the final race. With a neat gibe, Claasen-build Tawera pushed herself across the finish line, just seconds ahead of Kealoha to take line honours and the overall title

Janice of Wyoming followed in third and Yachting Developments’ Silvertip in fourth, within four minutes of the winner.

In the Pacific Division, Antaeus was holding the lead she’d shown throughout the race. She enjoyed the regatta’s first medium to fresh sea breeze and took line honours ahead of Allegro and then Steinlager II, but it was Steinlager who, with two wins from the previous races, won the overall Pacific division trophy.

Tawera Claims Nz Millennium Cup 3

(Photo: Kealoha / Jeff Brown)

Sliding effortlessly past the committee boat, Steinlager II confirmed her win of the series title, with Allegro taking second place overall and Antaeus, third. 

“A splendid gibe,” was the way New Zealand sports broadcaster Peter Montgomery, MBE, described the deciding play of the Millennium Cup division in his opening speech at the prize giving later that night.

Winners Tawera received a haul of goodies including Mount Gay Rum, Coast products, and the Cup.

The Cup is supported by a number of sponsors, including platinum sponsor Orams Marine, and gold sponsors Smuggler Marine, Far North Holdings/Port Opua, Doyle Sails New Zealand and Yachting Developments.

Tawera Claims Nz Millennium Cup 2

(Photo: Steinlager II / Jeff Brown)

Silver sponsors include OnFire Design, Dubois, Breed Media, Integrated Marine Group, Robinson Interiors and Southern Spars/North Sails. 

Millennium Cup Division Results:

1 Tawera

2 Kealoha

3 Janice of Wyoming

4 Silvertip

5 Shamoun

Pacific Cup Division Results:

1 Steinlager II

2 Allegro

3 Antaeus