Published: Tuesday, 14 June 2016

The 15th edition of Samui Regatta finale in Thailand completed May 30, with Kevin Whitcraft's THA72 wrapping up the title for IRC Zero and TP52 Division, Roland Dane finishing IRC One Class aboard Jessandra II at first place and El Coyote claiming victory in Cruising Class, while Natthakarn Panyawan’s 99 got the first place in Optimist Dinghy Class.

Kevin Whitcraft Gains Victory At Samui Regatta Irc Zero

(Photos: Samui Regatta)

Despite Whitcraft’s dominance on the result sheet, Sarab Singh's Windsikher II pushed the team hard in IRC Zero Class Race 1, finishing one minute behind on corrected time – the closest of the series – while seconds back was the Bailey/ Wilmer’s Oi!

Two minutes separated the top three in the final race of the IRC Zero series and it was the fast finishing Oi!, who claimed the race win. Windsikher II, however, sailed a solid race to correct out in third and with it secured their second place overall in the standings. Troy Yaw's Team Ulumulu scored their second podium of the series, a well-earned third. Hong Kong teams Freefire and Jelik completed the race in fourth and fifth.

Kevin Whitcraft Gains Victory At Samui Regatta Irc Zero 3

Jessandra II galloped to another win in IRC One and much like THA72, the team wrapped up their class with one race to spare. Fujin sailed into second place ahead of EFG Mandrake III and with it closed the margin to two points in the overall standings.

Although having already won the class title, Jessandra II were out on the course racing hard and despite their valiant efforts to settle for second in the final race, a mere three seconds behind Hong Kong team EFG Mandrake III. David Dimmock's Loco finished third – their second podium of the series – and just nine seconds separated the top three in the final race.

Kevin Whitcraft Gains Victory At Samui Regatta Irc Zero 5

Winning the last race was enough to steer EFG Mandrake III into a comfortable second place overall with Brown/ Ketelbey/ Sorensen’s Fujin in third. Drew Taylor and Joachim Isler’s Ambush from Hong Kong gained the fifth place in IRC One Class.

A DNS for Moon Shadow and DNF for SailQuest Hi Jinks turned the Cruising Class into a two-boat showdown and it was Le Cochon Noir V who drew first blood. Winning by just six seconds they took the series into a final race decider, one point adrift of El Coyote.

Just two Cruising boats on the startline turned the final race into a drag race, and El Coyote sealed the title in style with the race double – line honours and the win on corrected time.

Kevin Whitcraft Gains Victory At Samui Regatta Irc Zero 2

Having scored three firsts, two second places and one fourth on the 2015/16 AsianYachting Grand Prix (AYGP) championship this season, Steve Manning and Anthony Root's Ker 42 Black Baza, were crowned Skipper and Yacht of the Year at the season-ending Samui Regatta and with it add a new name to the AYGP's history – the ‘hardest sports trophy to win in Asia’.

The Samui Regatta came to a close with the a Gala Dinner on the lawn hosted by Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, marking the end to the regatta's 15th year and the start of planning for the 16th which will take place May 20-27, 2017.

Kevin Whitcraft Gains Victory At Samui Regatta Irc Zero 4

Overall Results (top three in each class)

IRC Zero

1. THA72, Kevin Whitcraft (9 pts)

2. Windsikher II, Sarab Singh (25 pts)

3. Oi!, Scott Bailey/ Fergus Wilmer (26 pts)


1. Jessandra II, Roland Dane (12 pts)

2. EFG Mandrake III, Nick Burns/ Fred Kinmonth (20 pts)

3. Fujin, Brown/ Ketelbey/ Sorensen (25 pts)


1. El Coyote, Gary Baguley (10 pts)

2. Le Cochon Noir V, Roman Guarsa (12 pts)

3. SailQuest Hi Jinks, Tim McMahon (23 pts)

TP52 Division Class

1. THA72, Kevin Whitcraft (9pts)
2. Oi!, Scott Bailey/ Fergus Wilmer (19 pts)
3. Freefire Sam Chan (27 pts)

Optimist Dinghy Class

1. 99 Natthakarn Panyawan (7pts)
2. SIN77 Keeratila Krongbun (8pts)
3. THA 0071 Bunyamin Klongsamut (9pts)