Published: Wednesday, 27 July 2016

Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek (July 19-23) in Thailand wrapped up with five champions from the Asia-Pacific region. The regatta was organised by Phuket Yacht Club.

Cape Panwa Hotel Raceweek Wraps Up With Five Ap Champions 1

(Photos: Phuket Yachte Club - Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek 2016)

Two wins in the last two races of the series for Ray Roberts and Millenium Racing was enough for them to secure a two-point winning margin in IRC Racing I. On the windward/leeward courses there was little between the two, just seconds at times, while Roberts and his crew appeared to have the edge on Oi! over distance. 

One more race would have brought a drop into play and for IRC Racing II this could have changed everything. It never happened and third place for David Dimmock and Loco in Race 3 of the series was their downfall, allowing Scott Bradley's Emagine to take top spot by a single point. Third place went to Ben Copley in his first outing on his new boat Gust. Of the four Beneteaus in the class, Fujin placed highest, beating Richard Barnhurt's Balance on countback.

Cape Panwa Hotel Raceweek Wraps Up With Five Ap Champions 3

There was controversy in IRC Racing III on Day 2 when three of the five-strong fleet could not finish by the stipulated time in the second race of the day, resulting in FPA for those boats and three points awarded to Phoenix. Redress requested by the Race Committee saw the Protest Committee award Phoenix FPA and one point, while the two finishers Foreign Affair and Moon Smile remained scored at first and second respectively. As often is the case, everything comes out in the wash and no matter whether it is a single or three points for Phoenix, and with no drop race in the frame, Phoenix still wins the class. Foreign Affair held onto second and Sailescapes Farrgo Express held off the challenge from Moon Smile to claim third.

After a slow start to the series in the Cruising/ Charter class, Jim Ellis and his crew on Remington found their speed and finished the series with a 3,1,1 scoreline and took out the title by a single point from BeauX Esprits, with Venture placing third.

Cape Panwa Hotel Raceweek Wraps Up With Five Ap Champions 6

Despite a third in the last race of the series for Singaporean Clement Lim and his Singapore Management University team on Phuket Boat Lagoon Weasel, they won the One Design Platu class by a single point from the all-female team on Phuket Boat Lagoon Fox with Absolute One Design in third.

In Firefly 850 Class, Briton John Newnham on Twin Sharks was the champion. Alan Carwardine from Thailand on Asia Catamarans Hurricane completed Racing Multihull Class in first and Aussie Mick Tilden on board Pixalux claimed victory in Pulse 600 Class.

Cape Panwa Hotel Raceweek Wraps Up With Five Ap Champions 5

The 13th edition of Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek received a record fleet of 47 boats, with a growing number of sailors coming from around the world to charter a boat and compete. Also encouraging is the number of Thai sailors taking part, making up 20% of the fleet this year. 

The next edition of Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek will take place July 19-23, 2017.

Cape Panwa Hotel Raceweek Wraps Up With Five Ap Champions 4


IRC I Class
1. Millenium Racing - Ray Roberts (AUS)
2. Oi! - Peter Ahern/Scott Bailey/Fergus Wilmer

IRC II Class
1. Emagine - Scott Bradley (AUS)
2. Loco - David Dimmock (SIN)
3. Gust - Ben Copley (AUS)

1. Phoenix - Neils Degenkolw (DEN)
2. Foreign Affair - Ian Lodewyckx/Keith O’Donnell (AUS)
3. Sailescapes Farrgo Express - Peter Waa (AUS)

1. Remington - Jim Ellis (CAN)
2. Beaux Esprits - Keith Garry (AUS)
3. Venture - Jim Oosterweghel (AUS)

Plauto One Design
1. Phuket Boat Lagoon Weasel - Clement Lim (SIN)
2. Phuket Boat Lagoon Fox - Liz Schoch (AUS)
3. Absolute One Design -Kev Scott (AUS)

Multihull Racing
1. Asia Catamarans Hurricane - Alan Carwardine (THA)
2. Java - John Coffin/Mick Coleman (CNA)
3. Top Cat - Peter Wood (IRE)

Firefly 850
1. Twin Sharks - John Newnham (BRI)
2. Voodoo - Ian Coulson (BRI)
3. Blue Noze - George Eddings (BRI)

Corsair Class
1. Pixalux - Mick Tilden (AUS)
2. SuDu 4 (Yellow) - Charles Robinson (BRI)
3. Multihull Solutions H30 - Zam Bevan (WAL)