Published: Wednesday, 01 February 2017

Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club unveiled its new official website and logo for its flagship event – the biennial Rolex China Sea Race, Asia’s oldest Category 1 Offshore race which has been awarded several accolades including Asian Regatta of the Year at the Asia Boating Awards. The next edition will start on Mar 28, 2018.

Rolex China Sea Race Launches New Official Website

(Photos: Daniel Forster / Rolex - 2016 honours winner Alive)

Competing yachts will cross the start line in Hong Kong’s iconic Victoria Harbour and go on to the open water section of the 565nm course to Subic Bay in the Philippines. The Race finishes with gentle wind, adding to the challenging test of seamanship.

The 2016 edition saw an entry list of 34 boats from seven countries including two from Mainland China and a double-handed entry. Phillip Turner’s RP66, Alive claimed line honours and set a new race record with a time of 47h 31m 08s – 11 minutes and 59 seconds inside the previous record held by Karl Kwok’s Beau Geste for 16 years.

Rolex China Sea Race Launches New Official Website 1

With Wang Bin’s Swan 82 UBOX making its debut entry for China in the 2016 edition of the Race, and in recognition of the importance of the interest in yacht racing in China, the Notice of Race is offered in both English and Chinese, as are key areas of the website.

The new website also features video highlights of past races and an honour roll of winners dating back to the first Race held 55 years ago when in 1962 Reverie took line honours after six days of racing. Line honours winners include Karl Kwok’s Beau Geste, Neil Pryde’s Hi Fi, Frank Pong’s Jelik and Syd Fischer’s Ragamuffin 90 amongst others.

There is also a photo gallery and access to the 2016 race tracker, which will switch to live tracking once the 2018 Race begins.