Published: Friday, 26 January 2018

With less than two months to go until the entry deadline for this year’s Rolex China Sea Race, 25 boats already confirmed their entry to the 565nm Category 1 offshore race which will start on March 28 in Hong Kong’s Victoria Harbour and finish in two to five days later in the Philippines at Subic Bay.

Twenty Five Boats Confirmed Entry At Rolex China Sea Race 

(Photo: Rolex / Daniel Forster)

The current entry list features previous winners of IRC Overall, including Sam Chan’s FreeFire (2004) and Geoff Hill (2012) with Antipodes (formerly Genuine Risk) and together with several IRC Overall winners, as well as the new record maker – Phillip Turner’s Alive (2016).

The new race record of 47h 31m 08s has written by Alive in 2016, which 11m 50s faster than Karl Kwok was set it on Beau Geste in the year 2000. Had it not taken four hours for the northeast monsoon to kick in, Alive could have been looking at taking a much larger chunk out of the record.

In the 2018 competition, Tracking will be continued by Yellowbrick allowing those left on shore to follow the action.